Red Blood Cell – hair clip # 4

It has been a while since I have given an update on my beadwork.  While I was working on the hair clips I have described in my previous posts here, here and here, my older daughter suggested a new idea.  She has all of the symptoms of a child raised by scientists.  Her most recent writing project in school focused on explaining how vaccines work!  She has been fascinated with our “Bring your kid to work day” and has tried doing some simple experiments in museums and at home.  She has also admired my artwork and has tried to get involved.


So when she saw me making biological hair clips in the form of cells,she requested a Red Blood Cell!  Red blood cells are unique in that unlike all other cells they do not have a nucleus and have a slightly “pinched” morphology.  They are responsible for carrying oxygen through our blood stream.

Here is a little bit of behind the process and how the clip turned out.  I love the simple elegance that it projects!


To see more of my work, please follow me on Instagram and check out my Etsy shop!

2 thoughts on “Red Blood Cell – hair clip # 4

  1. Awww look at how focused your daughter looks while she is at work. Glad she has a supporting mother to tender her dreams. Definitely, a scientist in the making 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

